About us

About Karmann-Mobil:

Karmann has been manufacturing motor homes since 1977. Wilhelm Karmann discovered the template for his first motor home in South Africa. T2 motor homes follow models on Mercedes chassis. At the same time, Karmann develops its own caravan. The Postillion is available in two designs: the Postillion 4500 and 5000. However, the core expertise lies clearly in the motorised sector. For this reason, motor home production was put on hold again after a few years. in 2000, the Karmann-Mobil company was sold to Eura Mobil. Karmann-Mobil is continued as an independent company within the Eura Mobil Group. In 2011, Karmann-Mobil launches a broad market and product offensive for campers. With its new “Dexter” series and the expansion of the familiar “Davis” series, the brand will cover the entire van and campers market segment in the future.

HISTORY

1900:

Wilhelm Karmann started producing “mobiles” well over 100 years ago. The first carriage produced in Osnabrück was a landau.

1960s:

The plant in Rheine was founded in the 1960s. Compared to the long tradition of vehicle building, motor homes represented a relatively new chapter in the Osnabrück company’s story. In the 1970s, the first Karmann motor homes based on the Volkswagen Type 2 were produced.

1970s:

For friends of the “benevolent star on all streets”, the first Karmann motor homes on the chassis of the Daimler Benz 207D/208 were developed at the end of the 1970s.

1980s:

The 1980s were when the world of motor homes really got motoring. To mark the start of the 1980 season, Karmann unveiled the Gipsy H and Gipsy M models.

From 1983, the Cheetah and Gipsy models were manufactured on the basis of the Volkswagen Transporter, initially on the basis of the T3 and from 1990 onwards on the T4. The story of success continued for over ten years.

The Karmann motor home built between 1987 and 1993 on the MB 100 followed predecessors on Mercedes 210, 309 and 310 chassis. The MB 100 still has a tremendously loyal fan community even today.

1990s:

The Distance wide, unveiled at the start of the 1990s, was originally planned as a special model for the successful series built on the LT chassis. The feedback was so tremendous, however, that three Distance wide models were released in the next year alone. The crowning finale came in 1994 with the Distance wide Gold and its extensive package of features.

At the 1996 Caravan Salon, Karmann-Mobil presented the first models in the Missouri and Colorado families. At first glance, the new Volkswagen-based motor homes have an appearance strongly influenced by the design of the car.

2000:

In July 2000, the sale of the company to Eura Mobil was perfect. Motor homes from Karmann-Mobil were then manufactured in Sprendlingen for over ten years. Karmann-Mobil continued as an independent company within the Eura Mobil Group.

2002/2003:

Since September 2002, Karmann-Mobil has been manufacturing its products at its production facilities spanning 10,000 square metres over three floors.

In 2003, the new Colorado was unveiled as a prototype at the Caravan Salon. In 2004, series production began on eight floor plans, including four semi-integrated models which is an innovation for Karmann-Mobil.

2005:

Takeover of Karmann-Mobil by the international motor home group Trigano

2006:

Karmann-Mobil unveiled two new series. Both the new Ontario and the new Davis are based on a Fiat Ducato chassis – a new development in Karmann-Mobil’s story.

2011:

Karmann-Mobil expanded its camper segment. New addition to the Karmann-Mobil family: the Dexter models.

2014:

At the 2014 Caravan Salon, Karmann-Mobil showcased the largest portfolio of models in its history with 20 different floor plans in the box van segment.

2017:

The Karmann-Mobil product portfolio is divided into 3 different bed shapes and 3 different lengths: double bed, twin beds, lift-up bed, up to 5.5 metres, up to 6 metres and up to 6.5 metres. The portfolio therefore comprises 17 different floor plans.

SUCCESS CAN BE MEASURED

GALLERY

Back to top

Über uns

Über Karmann Mobil:

Seit 1977 fertigt Karmann Reisemobile. Wilhelm Karmann entdeckte das Vorbild für sein erstes Reisemobil in Südafrika. T2-Reisemobilen folgen Modelle auf Mercedes- Chassis. Parallel entwickelt Karmann einen eigenen Wohnwagen. Den Postillion gibt es in zwei Ausführungen: Als Postillion 4500 und als 5000. Aber die Kernkompetenz liegt eindeutig im motorisierten Sektor. Deshalb wird die Wohnwagen-Produktion nach einigen Jahren wieder eingestellt. 2000 wird das Unternehmen Karmann-Mobil an Eura Mobil verkauft. Karmann-Mobil wird als eigenständiges Unternehmen in der Eura Mobil Gruppe fortgeführt. 2011 startet Karmann-Mobil eine breite Markt- und Produktoffensive bei den Campingbussen. Mit der neuen Baureihe „Dexter“ und der Erweiterung der bekannten „Davis“-Baureihe wird künftig das komplette Marktsegment bei den Kastenwagen abgedeckt.

HISTORIE

1900:

Bereits vor über 100 Jahren fertigte Wilhelm Karmann „Mobile“. Der erste in Osnabrück gefertigte Wagen war ein Landauer.

60er:

In den 60er Jahren wurde das Werk in Rheine gegründet. Reisemobile waren, gemessen an der langen Tradition im Fahrzeugbau, ein relativ junges Kapitel in der Geschichte des Osnabrücker Unternehmens. In den 70er Jahren entstanden die ersten Karmann-Reisemobile auf der Basis des Volkswagen Typ 2.

70er:

Für die Freunde des „guten Sterns auf allen Straßen“ wurden schon Ende der 70er Jahre die ersten Karmann-Reisemobile auf den Fahrgestellen des Daimler Benz 207D/208 entwickelt.

80er:

Die 80er Jahre: Jetzt kommt die Reisemobilwelle so richtig ins Rollen. Zum Saisonbeginn des Jahres 1980 stellt Karmann die Modelle Gipsy H und Gipsy M vor.
Ab 1983 wurden die Modelle Cheetah und Gipsy auf Basis des Volkswagen Transporters gefertigt- zunächst auf der Basis des T3 und ab 1990 auf dem T4. Über zehn Jahre sollte die Erfolgsstory andauern.
Das von 1987 bis 1993 gebaute Karmann-Mobil auf dem MB 100 folgte Vorgängern auf den Mercedes-Fahrgestellen 210, 309 und 310. Der MB 100 hat auch heute noch eine ausgesprochen treue Fangemeinde.

90er:

Der Anfang der 90er Jahre vorgestellte Distance wide war ursprünglich als Sondermodell der erfolgreichen Baureihe auf LT-Chassis geplant. Die Resonanz war jedoch so groß, da schon im nächsten Jahr drei Distance wide-Modelle vorgestellt wurden. Den krönenden Abschluss bildete 1994 der Distance wide Gold mit seinem umfangreichen Ausstattungspaket.
Auf dem Caravan Salon 1996 präsentiert Karmann-Mobil die ersten Modelle der Missouri- und Colorado-Familie. Die neuen Reisemobile auf Volkswagen-Basis zeichnen sich schon auf den ersten Blick durch ein Outfit aus, das starke Anleihen am Pkw-Design nimmt.

2000:

Im Juli 2000 ist der Verkauf des Unternehmens an Eura Mobil perfekt. Reisemobile von Karmann-Mobil wurden danach über zehn Jahre in Sprendlingen gefertigt. Karmann-Mobil wird als eigenständiges Unternehmen in der Eura Mobil Gruppe fortgeführt.

2002/2003:

Seit September 2002 fertigt Karmann-Mobil in den neuen Produktionshallen mit 10.000 Quadratmetern auf drei Etagen.
2003 wird der neue Colorado als Prototyp auf dem Caravan Salon präsentiert. 2004 gehen acht Grundrisse, darunter als Novum bei Karmann-Mobil vier Teilintegrierte, in Serie.

2005:

Übernahme von Karmann-Mobil durch den internationalen Reisemobilkonzern Trigano

2006:

Karmann-Mobil stellt zwei neue Baureihen vor. Sowohl der neue Ontario als auch der neue Davis basieren auf einem Fiat Ducato-Fahrgestell – ein Novum in der Geschichte von Karmann-Mobil.

2011:

Karmann-Mobil baut das Segment der Campingbusse aus. Neu in der Karmann-Mobil-Familie: die Dexter-Modelle.

2014:

Karmann-Mobil präsentiert auf dem Caravan-Salon 2014 mit 20 unterschiedlichen Grundrissen im Kastenwagen-Segment die größte Modellpalette seiner Geschichte.

2017:

Die Karmann-Mobil Produktpalette wird in 3 verschiedene Bettformen und 3 verschiedene Längen eingeteilt: Doppelbett, Einzelbetten, Hubbett, bis 5,5 Meter, bis 6 Meter, bis 6,5 Meter. Das Portfolio umfasst somit 17 verschiedene Grundrisse.

ERFOLG IST MESSBAR

Karmann Medallie

GALERIE

Back to top